Michigan Drivers License Restoration
One of the most common reasons for driver's license revocation is a DUI offense, or an offense that involves alcohol or drugs. A conviction for a first offense DUI violation subjects the driver to a suspension of up to six months. Any driver who refuses to take a Breathalyzer test is subject to having his or her license privileges revoked. A person who is physically or mentally unable to operate a vehicle may have his or her privileges taken. A person with an amputation or severe mental retardation may be included in this class of drivers.
Drivers may also have their licenses revoked for failure to pay fines or obligations such as child support. The child support courts may see a license revocation as the only way to motivate the non-custodial parent to pay dues. Additionally, drivers who use poor judgment can have their licenses revoked for accumulating traffic violation points. Any person who accumulates more than 12 points on his or her license within 12 months is subject to immediate revocation of privileges. Points disappear from a driver's record two years after their assignment. A driver who has lost his or her license must go through a certain process to have the license restored.
How to Restore a License
The procedure for restoring one's license depends on the reason that it was revoked in the first place. For example, a person who had his or her license revoked for child support could remedy the situation by first paying the back support. That person will be able to reinstate his or her license quickly. On the other hand, a person who has his or her license revoked for a DUI will have to wait until the revocation period clears. That person may also have to satisfy certain obligations as set forth by the authorities.
A person who has lost his so her license because of physical or mental incapacity will have to pass a driver reexamination test to obtain his or her privileges back. A person who has his or her license revoked because of an alcohol problem will have to apply for reexamination, as well. The person will have to furnish proof that the medical condition, alcoholism or mental impairment no longer exists. Proof of such may be in the form of a certificate for taking driver's classes, a psychiatrist or doctor's statement, or a substance abuse evaluation form.
Once a Michigan citizen receives approval to have his or her license restored, that person will have to pay a fee to the department of Motor vehicles. The standard reinstatement fee for a driver license restoration in Michigan is $125. The cost covers fees for administrative duties and so forth.